Craigslist Junkie

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My chicken coop and run May 15, 2010

I loved the chickens, but wanted my garden shed back. It was time to build or find the birds a new home. First, I looked into the route of building a coop but decided I wasn’t skilled enough. Then one day, I see a free shed on Craiglist and called them immediately. I was a good size, had a window and a door. It needed a few modifications and it had wallpaper in it because it was a kid’s clubhouse at some point, but it would work.

Getting this beast in and out of the truck was fun, by the way. It weighed A TON. We actually bent up the tailgate to the Tundra getting it back out. It still doesn’t open and shut right!

My husband built nesting boxes out of scrap wood that we had and we fashioned a ladder going to the window out of nice straight limbs we had saved from a tree we had cut up. We also put some roosts (straight limbs) inside and painted the outside (free CL paint).

Overall, we invested no $$ except for fuel and a tailgate (if we even replace it, which probably won’t happen).

Next stop–fencing!

 

Leave a Reply

