Craigslist Junkie

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Another Water Garden June 5, 2010

My original water garden was supposed to be created out of a stock tank. I came across a stock tank at Nixa Hardware that was surrounded with landscaping rocks and wanted to recreate it in my yard. I came across a stock tank on Craigslist for a mere $20.00. It had a couple of holes that we plugged with Great Stuff and it was as good as new!!

Using a free pool pump, I worked out a filtration system and a fountain, again, all free off Craigslist.

We never could get the rocks to work right, so instead, I just set it up and did some other things to make it attractive. I found a neat idea while geeking one day to use some bamboo around the edge.

I have an out of commission bamboo shade that I bought from Lowes. I measured it out and put it around the outside edge. We filled it full of water lilies and other plants we got off Craigslist. I put some Japanese Irises around the front and a wooden plank that was part of the landscaping when I bought the house.

We spent a whopping $50.00 total on this project between the stock tank, Great Stuff, and plants!

 

Leave a Reply

